• dobcross_village_slider
  • saddleworth-viaduct
  • saddleworth_church
  • news-banner
Our Councillors


Saddleworth Parish Council is the administrative body for the area of Saddleworth, which is made up of the villages of Austerlands, Delph, Denshaw, Diggle, Dobcross, Friezland, Grasscroft, Greenfield, Grotton, Lydgate, Scouthead, Springhead and Uppermill.

The Council is made up of elected representatives from each village or locality, and its main aim is to promote, maintain and improve Saddleworth for the benefit of its residents and visitors.

Among the Parish Council’s main activities are:

  • Managing the local amenities of the Civic Hall and Cemetery
  • Considering the effect of planning applications upon the area
  • Undertaking special projects such as the creation of the Four Meres Trail and Boundary Signs
  • Encouraging and enabling local interest groups and societies
  • Publicising the many and varied events which take place in Saddleworth

Saddleworth Parish Council works with a variety of partners in order to explore and find solutions to the actions which are detailed in the Parish Plan.


Council Agenda 22nd June 2020

22nd June 20 AGENDA


Newsletter, March 2020 – special CORONAVIRUS issue 1

A brief summary of what’s in our March 2020 newsletter.. SPECIAL CORONAVIRUS ISSUE (1): Things have been happening so quickly…